Verizon iPhone doubtful

The internet has been flooded with rumors recently that Verizon is supposedly getting the iPhone in January. Some people even think it’s already been announced. One of my teachers paraded up and down for I don’t know how long that Apple actually announced it, but of course they haven’t.

I hate to burst anyone’s bubble, but I don’t think Verizon will be getting this amazing device anytime soon, and there’s a very simple reason. Verizon’s network is STILL a CDMA network, versus AT&T’s GSM network. Now, I don’t claim to be an expert on cellular networks, but I do know that making a Verizon iPhone would involve more than a simple software unlock. It would involve a hardware redesign.

But the hardware requirement isn’t the main reason Apple won’t be giving the prize to Verizon. The main reason is that GSM is a newer and superior technology to CDMA. Frankly, CDMA is a remnant of older times, and GSM won out. Pretty much the entire rest of the world is running on GSM, but some American companies (Verizon) are still sitting on CDMA. Anybody that knows much about Apple knows they are very progressive and like to abandon old technologies and push the new ones coming in. It would be a step backwards in cellular technology for Apple to make a CDMA version of the iPhone. I don’t think Apple knows how to take a step backwards.

I do want to just note again that I really don’t know the fine details of how cellular networks work, so I could be overblowing the superiority of GSM over CDMA, but this is just based off of my understanding of the situation. I don’t really care on the whole situation either, we’ve always been totally happy with AT&T, and I have had issues dealing with Verizon with my grandmother’s phone, so I couldn’t care less if Apple makes it or not. Just a thought I had on the whole situation.

Leave a Reply

